The definition of "nerf"

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The definition of "nerf"

Hi guys, I work as a game designer, and would like to explain what is a "nerf", and why it is something a sane game developer would never do.
    Nerf is when a game developer reduces reward or other benefits of something in the game, or makes things more difficult to reach as before.

Examples of nerf:
    - sc/whip/gem events no longer give event pieces.
    - gem event wont give reward for lvl 4 gem, wing event wont give reward for lvl 2 wing.
    - opening inventory slots cost 20 times more as before.
    - a blue hades cost 480 event pieces while a blue apollo cost 220 before that.
    - reducing rune slots from 3 to 2.
    etc. etc.

The main problems with nerfs:
    1.) Makes sure players who started later lose the last hope to catch up with early birds.
    2.) Makes all players extremely unhappy.

As a result, it reduces the company's income by a massive amount (although they think it does the other way).

Nerfs are bad. They are a sure way to get rid of your customers.
    My blog about how to build the strongest character in Wartune using a minimum amount of balens:

so sadly true
    sc/whip was our hope. we saved them (a real pain in the inventory) for having great rewards.
    i still save them but wondering if r2games will create a worthy event anymore

the current event is another proof. i bought some event chest sometimes when i was close to the number needed to get the mount.
    for the current one, i had 40 / 220... no point. and i don't wanna buy 200 without being sure of winning the mount (who is still only a +20 ...)

taking back some advantage a consumer had is trying to lose him
    RETIRED. Too much bugs, too time consuming, too few listening from Wartune
    Wartune : NonoBoulot : S181 : Archer

Comment

Originally posted by Fherlayt View Post